When it comes to McDonald's vegan options, the most popular question asked is are McDonald's fries vegan? (hint, they're not) But most people often assume that McDonald's hashbrowns are vegan... after all, they're just deep-fried potatoes right?
Let's dive into Mcdonald's hashbrowns and whether or not they are actually vegan in the United States.
Are McDonald's Hashbrowns Vegan?
Unfortunately, McDonald's hashbrowns are not vegan in US restaurants. This is due to the fact they contain "natural beef flavor" in their ingredients. Ironically, there is no beef in this flavoring, but it does contain milk.
According to McDonald's USA, the ingredients in a hashbrown are: potatoes, canola oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor (wheat and milk derivatives), citric acid, and salt.
The ingredients and cooking process is almost exactly the same as Mcdonald's fries - which are also not vegan.
Are McDonald's Hashbrowns Vegan Overseas?
Yes, hashbrowns appear to be vegan outside of the United States. This is due to the fact that McDonald's restaurants in other countries appear not to contain the 'natural beef flavoring' that US McDonald's do.
The below countries are confirmed to have vegan-friendly hashbrowns via their respective McDonald's website. Keep in mind, hashbrowns are not served in certain chains in many parts of the world like parts of continental Europe, for example.
- McDonald's UK: Vegan
- McDonald's Australia: Vegan
- McDonald's Canada: Vegan
- McDonald's Mexico: Vegan
Vegan-Friendly Hashbrowns At Fast Food Restaurants
- Burger King: Hashbrowns
- Chick-Fil-A: Hashbrowns
- Taco Bell: Hashbrowns
- Carl's Jr: Hash Rounds
- Dunken Donuts: Hashbrowns